Office building of Kennedy & Kennedy Law Office.
A Family Firm That Takes A Client-first Approach

How much does insurance rise after a Minnesota DUI/DWI?

On Behalf of | May 19, 2023 | Criminal Defense

When a Minnesota traffic stop leads to a charge of either driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, quite a bit depends on the outcome of your case. While a conviction for drunk driving might mean jail time, the loss of your driver’s license and other criminal repercussions, your finances also take a hit after this type of conviction.

Per, motorists in all 50 states see their annual insurance rates rise after a conviction for drunk driving. However, residents of some states see higher increases than others. How much more might you pay for car insurance after a Minnesota drunk driving conviction?

How much more insurance costs with a DUI/DWI

In Minnesota, if you have an otherwise pretty standard driving record, you should expect your annual insurance premiums to increase by about 88%. This is a substantial increase. Say you paid about $1,339 per year to insure yourself while driving before your DUI or DWI arrest, which is typical in Minnesota. After the drunk driving conviction, you should expect to pay around $2,522 a year for insurance, which is an annual increase of $1.183.

How to find the lowest rate available

Insurance providers use a wide range of formulas and tactics to decide how much to charge their customers. Also, some insurers have historically been more generous to drivers with drunk driving convictions than others. So, it may benefit you financially to ask several insurance companies for quotes before deciding which one to insure you.

Note, too, that in some instances, your current insurer may decide to drop you from your policy or decide not to insure you anymore once you have a drunk driving arrest in your past.