What are the consequences of repeat DUI offenses in Minnesota?
  1. Home
  2.  ► 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  ► What are the consequences of repeat DUI offenses in Minnesota?

What are the consequences of repeat DUI offenses in Minnesota?

On Behalf of | Dec 28, 2022 | Criminal Defense

Minnesota’s statutory law recognizes several different degrees of offenses for
Driving While Intoxicated. A person with one or more previous convictions for DWI will face increasingly severe penalties for subsequent offenses.

Here are some key points to understand about penalties for repeat DWIs.

License revocation

A second charge for drunk driving can lead to the revocation of a driver’s license for up to one year. If a driver’s Blood Alcohol Concentration is greater than .16, the state may revoke his or her license for two years. With a court’s consent, it may be possible to avoid losing a license by installing an interlock ignition device.

A third offense may prompt the state to revoke a driver’s license for three years regardless of a driver’s BAC. Likewise, a fourth offense can lead to revocation for four years regardless of a driver’s BAC.

Jail time

A second DWI conviction carries a minimum of thirty days of jail time. In some instances, it may be possible to substitute community service for confinement.

A third conviction typically carries a minimum of ninety days of jail time. A fourth conviction could result in jail time ranging from 180 days up to 7 years.

Fines

Fines for DWIs become increasingly costly after each expense. The fine for a second or third offense can run up to $3000. After a fourth or fifth DWI conviction, a defendant could face up to $14,000 in fines.

Ultimately, it is important to recognize that several factors can affect the outcome of a repeat DWI offense.

Share This