What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Minnesota?
  1. Home
  2.  ▶ 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  ▶ What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Minnesota?

What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Minnesota?

| Sep 13, 2020 | Criminal Defense

Minnesota allows for the possession of medical marijuana for those with qualifying health conditions; however, if you do not have a medical marijuana license, you can be subjected to criminal penalties even for having a small amount of the substance.

A misdemeanor or felony charge can affect you for the rest of your life, but the charges and penalties that may be assessed vary with the amount that you are found with.

Misdemeanor penalties

The National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Law states that misdemeanor marijuana possession includes any amount below the threshold of 42.5 grams. The maximum fine that is typically assessed for this charge is $200.

You will not typically face incarceration if you are found with less than 42.5 grams, and it may be possible to get a conditional discharge, depending on the circumstances. Do keep in mind, however, that if you are found with more than 1.4 grams in the passenger area of your vehicle, an additional misdemeanor charge can ensue, where you may face a fine of up to $1,000 and be incarcerated for up to 90 days with no chance for a conditional discharge.

Felony penalties

If you are found with more than 42.5 grams, the potential penalties increase dramatically, and the charge changes from a misdemeanor to a felony. If the amount is between ten kilograms and 42.5 grams, you may be fined as much as $10,000, and it is possible to face as many as five years in prison. These penalties continue to increase with the amounts you are found with, up to the maximum of a fine of $1 million and 30 years in prison if you are found with 100 kilograms or more.